EU Eastern Partnership Summit  

held at Riga, Latvia (May 2015)


6 EU EASTERN PARTNERS: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine



EU_Eurostat‏@EU_EurostatMay 20
#Eurostat Facts and visualisation about the Eastern Partnership Summit …


Interactive Chart at above link - Choose one or more countries

European Commission Press Release 2015-05-21


The Eastern Partnership – a policy that delivers

"The Eastern Partnership, a joint undertaking of the EU and its Eastern European partners Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine, has advanced in concrete terms across a range of bilateral and multilateral cooperation areas since the 2013 summit in Vilnius.

The signing, provisional application and first steps in implementation of the most ambitious ever bilateral Association Agreements including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (AA/DCFTAs) with Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine have brought the EU's relations with these countries to new levels. The focus is now on the implementation of these agreements, through reforms, to unlock a broad range of concrete benefits. A majority of the EU Member States have already ratified the AA/DCFTAs.
As part of its comprehensive engagement with Ukraine, the EU also brokered a winter energy deal between Russia and Ukraine and is actively supporting a new, lasting deal in view of the next winter.
Partner countries' association with a number of EU Agencies and programmes (…) has broadened considerably over the last year.


1. Erasmus+ (exchanges in the higher education)

2. Creative Europe (promoting media and artistic creation)
3. COSME (for SMEs networking)
4. Horizon 2020 (allowing for joint research programmes)

Energy interconnections in the Eastern Partnership region have been enhanced since the Vilnius summit.
SMEs in Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine will also benefit from the newly created DCFTA Facility for SMEs, where EUR 200 million grant from the EU budget will combine with loans from the European Financing Institutions (notably, EBRD and EIB) in order to unlock up to EUR 2 billion of new investments in the three countries.